Microsoft, Cisco, VMWare, CompTIA, and Technical Courses

IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) Foundation
Certification v3.0
Five Days - Instructor-led

You will describe the basic fundamental concepts of ITIL, and identify the phases of the IT Service Management Lifecycle.


The target student is any IT professional who works in IT service support and delivery: including Service Desk/Help Desk managers and staff; IT department managers; or any other IT support and delivery roles; who either wishes to advance to service management, benefit from the knowledge of a de facto standard for describing IT service and support, or who wishes to refine their skills in their current service management job to include ITIL best practices.


End-user level computer and networking skills are required. Some level of work experience in IT service support or IT service delivery is highly recommended.

Course Objectives

Upon successful completion of this course, students will be able to:

  • describe the history and basic concepts of ITIL.
  • describe the Continual Service Improvement phase of the IT Service Lifecycle.
  • describe the Service Operation phase of the IT Service Lifecycle.
  • describe the various functions of the Service Operation Lifecycle phase of the IT Service Lifecycle.
  • describe the Service Transition phase of the IT Service Lifecycle.
  • describe the Service Design phase of the IT Service Lifecycle.
  • describe the Service Strategy phase of the IT Service Lifecycle.

Course Outline

Lesson 1: Introduction to ITIL

  • ITIL Basics
  • The Service Lifecycle

Lesson 2: Continual Service Improvement

  • Basic Concepts of CSI
  • CSI Principles

Lesson 3: Service Operation

  • Basic Concepts of Service Operation
  • The Event Management Process
  • The Incident Management Process
  • The Problem Management Process
  • The Request Fulfillment Process
  • The Access Management Process

Lesson 4: Service Operation Functions

  • The Service Desk Function
  • The Technical Management Function
  • The IT Operations Management Function
  • The Application Management Function

Lesson 5: Service Transition

  • Basic Concepts of Service Transition
  • The Change Management Process
  • The SACM Process
  • The Release and Deployment Management Process
  • The Knowledge Management Process

Lesson 6: Service Design

  • Basic Concepts of Service Design
  • The Service Level Management Process
  • The Service Catalog Management Process
  • The Availability Management Process
  • The Capacity Management Process
  • The Information Security Management Process
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • The Supplier Management Process

Lesson 7: Service Strategy

  • Basic Concepts of the Service Strategy Phase
  • The Financial Management Process
  • The Service Portfolio Management Process
  • The Demand Management Process